Finally Back and Ready to Work — Well sort of

I can’t believe it’s been so long since I was last on here, but when I think about it I’ve struggled with a lot of health issues.  I spent until last May in and out of the hospital with diverticulitis, underwent surgery for it which was complicated by a massive infection, then once I recovered, I raced to make up a whole year’s worth of writing in five months.

I nearly did it!

Then late December came along and my L 4-5 disc ruptured and put me out of action for 3 months.  Physical therapy helps some, as do lidocaine patches and NSAIDS.  Today I had a Epidural Steroid Injection and I’m hopeful this makes all the difference.  So far, so good.

So now I’m back.  I’ve been working when I can.  Just when I thought I had my Mojo going, I went and changed computers, upgrading to Windows 7 and Office 2010.  What was I thinking?  Honestly, they should not let little old ladies get anywhere near new technology!

Alright I am only 48, but I feel ancient when I suddenly go from Word 2003 to this new stuff.  What happened to all my nice neat drop down boxes I was used to?  Where do I find them????  Someone help me, please?

I called a friend at Microsoft (I know several) and he steered me to a game called Ribbon Hero.  Apparently some of the MS Office guys didn’t have enough to do and they came up with this great tool to help befuddled newbies figure out how to use the new ribbons in Office 2010.  You can do challenges and earn points, then go over and work on your own stuff and get more points.  If you get lost, you can click up on the Ribbon Hero button and it will walk you through all the stuff you need to know.

One of the best things I found in Ofice 2010 is One Note, a programme that organizes all your notes.  It’s fabulous and I recommend it for research and regular note taking.  I’m slowed way down as I am redoing all my notes onto One Note, but suddenly everthing is organized into one “book” with sections and pages within those sections and I can see it all right there.  Very neat for someone who loves organization like I do.

My goal is to get all this done tomorrow or the next day and then move on and finish my chapter by the end of the week.  I’ll let you know how I do.

Leave a Reply

