Goals for 2012

“Throw yourself into the hurly-burly of life.  it doesn’t matter how many mistakes you make, what unhappiness you have to undergo.  it is all your matierial.  don’t wiat for experience to come to you; go out after experience.  Expericence your material.”  W Somerset Maugham

I don’t normally make goals.  It don’t like them.  They just set you up for failure.  I tend to be a woman who says I’d like to get such and such accomplished and we’ll see.

But in November I did NaNoWriMo and the goal was 50,000 words in a month.  That was 1667 words a day.  I normally write a certain number of pages, say 5-10 pages, depending on how I feel and if the words are flowing.  NaNo skips all that and goes to word count.

I had never thought of writing in terms of word count before, except as a finished product.  it really changed the way I looked at things.  It made me write differently.  Normally I’m a very overly-organized writer, everything documented and outlined, nearly plotted to death lest I fall off the path and into the trees and get lost.  NaNo, I discovered, had me doing a quick general plot for each chapter and then just writing as fast as I could to get as many words written for that day.

I learned to set my inner editor outside to go play somewhere else and just write.  I learned to trust my creative self.  I learned I could do some really good writing without my picky inner editor hanging around looking over my shoulder.  I gained some new best friends from a writer’s group my daughter hooked me up with on Facebook.  Thanks, Leah.

I didn’t quite make my goal of 50,000 words.  I took weekends off and then we had Thanksgiving in the end of it and I had a bad Fibromyalgia flare up.  I wrote 42,500 words and called it good enough.  Next year I will be better prepared and make that 50,000 word goal.

Doing NaNo, as stressful as it was — my poor hubby barely saw me for the whole month — taught me a lot about my writing and about making goals.  So I decided to make a couple for 2012.

I will finish my current manuscript either this month or next.  It only has about two more chapters, but I’m facing abdominal surgery in the middle of the month, so we’ll see which gets done first.

I want to finish my historical novel, Now and Then and send it out to beta readers.

I want to start the sequel to Energy Weavers.

Lastly, I have a book I wrote in 2002, to which I now have my rights back.  I want to rewrite it and look at e-publishing this novel.

So those are the goals and it’s a lot of work.  I’ll see how it goes with surgery starting the year.  But I am looking forward to a good writing year and I wish all my readers the best 2012 whatever your goals and aspirations.

One thought on “Goals for 2012

  1. Well done with your achievements so far, and don’t give up! This is the year to beat those goals, and we will all do it together. And I know what you mean about that pesky inner editor, mine is a real pain sometimes!

Leave a Reply

